Respectful Actions

1 Comment

Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value.  She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life. Proverbs 31:11-12 (NIV)

Here is another well known verse about the relationship between a husband and wife.

However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband. Ephesians 5:33 (NIV)

For all of you who just bristled at the thought of treating your husband with respect or rolled your eyes at the thought of your husband having full confidence in you, read on!

My marriage isn’t perfect.  We argue occasionally.  We pass each other in the hallway at times and barely speak to one another.  However, we both committed to having a Christian marriage  that put God first.  If we both agree to follow God’s will and plan for our lives, we cannot ignore God’s instructions laid out in the Bible.   I am called to bring only good things to my husband and to respect him.  This is not because I am a wonderful, amazing person.  Nor is it because I married the perfect man that any woman would fawn over.  It is because God instructs me to do so, and I am committed to serving God.

What does all of this mean?  I interpret the verse from Proverbs as meaning that the wife should help her man build a strong reputation rather than tear him down in public.  Here are some practical ways to show respect to your husband that apply to women of today.

  1. Only post positive comments about him on social media.  No matter how mad you may have gotten after an argument, don’t go air your dirty laundry online!
  2. Only say positive remarks about him to his family.  My husband totally called me out on this one not too long ago.  He made a purchase that I was totally against.  He spent way too much money on it knowing I didn’t want him to buy it in the first place.  I found out while we were having dinner with his parents.  Unfortunately, I reacted poorly and said a few remarks that belittled him in front of his parents. He later told me that he welcomed me telling him how I felt, but he was embarrassed by my reaction and my unkind words.
  3. Tell him often how much you appreciate his contribution to the family.  Focusing on what he does right rather than his shortcomings can drastically change the mood of the marriage.  Let’s be honest!  Would you want to come home if all you heard was what a terrible spouse you are?  No! Welcome him home to a positive environment.
  4. Finally, pray for him.  Often!  And tell him about it!  Let him know that you want God to take charge of your marriage.  Remember, you cannot change your husband, but God can!

Blessings!

One thought on “Respectful Actions

  1. Pingback: The Right Words | LOVE UNCONDITIONAL

Leave a Reply

