Balancing Confidence and Humility

1 Comment

“When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
    for all of them are clothed in scarlet.
 She makes coverings for her bed;
    she is clothed in fine linen and purple.” Proverbs 31:21-22

A couple of weeks ago I received a compliment from a friend.  She gave this compliment in front of a large group of people.  I truly didn’t feel as if I deserved the praise I was receiving because I knew she was only seeing God work through me.  I tried to respond in a way that passed the glory to him, but fumbled my words in doing so.  She quietly whispered, “Just say ‘thank-you!'”

I got in the car to drive home when the meeting was over and realized that I was one of those women who has a hard time taking a compliment.  I didn’t know how to appropriately thank someone without seeming arrogant or without trying to give credit to Him who should take credit for ALL of my successes.

This is not one of those blogs that has a lot of advice today folks!  I don’t have any answers.  I am simply torn.  I struggle to balance humility, my need to give credit to God for all of my gifts and talents, and confidence.  I desperately want to address this for two HUGE reasons:  to be more like the Proverbs 31 woman and to be an example for my children.

The Proverbs 31 woman paraded her family and herself in fine clothing.  She didn’t hide the fact that they were wealthy.  Of course, much of their wealth was thanks to her!  She brought a large income into their home with her business savvy skills.  She didn’t walk around hiding her talents.  She showed great confidence in herself and her God.

I want my children to learn to be confident in themselves and in God.  I do not want them to be embarrassed when someone compliments them.

I end today by simply stating that this is an issue over which I continue to pray!

Blessings!

One thought on “Balancing Confidence and Humility

Leave a Reply

