No Fear, Even When the World Is Scary!

1 Comment

” When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
for all of them are clothed in scarlet” Proverbs 31:21

I am betting you, and most of America, counted your blessings yesterday.  Our hearts broke for Boston, for runners, for our children growing up in a world full of hate, hurt, and tears.  

I have to tell you folks, life has gotten scary lately.  A community I dearly love and taught in for four years made national news with a shooting at a local mall four days ago.  I taught the daughter of a police officer quoted by the news reporter.  My only thought was his daughter.  Was she scared Friday?  Did God comfort her?  

Did God comfort my fellow teachers in Connecticut in December?

Today marks the 6th anniversary of the massive Virginia Tech shootings.  I was teaching just a few miles away from Tech at the time.  I raced my fifth graders into the main building on our elementary campus as sirens blasted past me.  Helicopters zoomed overhead as my children cried in fear.  I dried tears of kids whose parents were at VT.  I held children whose parents were first responders.  I cried with those whose brothers and sisters were locked down in fear and cried for those who lost their lives.  I felt the presence of God in that library while under lock down with my kids.

Today I cry for those whose families have been ripped apart by tragedy and hate over the past 6 years and recent four days.  

Would the Proverbs 31 woman quake in fear tonight? No!  She doesn’t hold fear in her heart when the winter storms beat upon her front door.  She rests knowing that she isn’t in control.  God is!  She doesn’t have to save the world.  God will!  

I challenge the students in our world to continue to learn, without fear. I challenge my fellow teachers to continue to teach, without fear.   I challenge my fellow runners to continue to run, without fear.  God holds our world in His hands. 

A wise friend of mine from years ago once told me that we are often surprised, but God never is.  He knew this would happen.  

Like the Proverbs 31 woman, continue to live your life, without fear!

Blessings!

One thought on “No Fear, Even When the World Is Scary!

  1. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him.

Leave a Reply

