Doing It All

Leave a comment

I was asked last week how I manage to “do it all!”  My reply was simple.  “I don’t!”

The lady who questioned me is the mother of a child who plays with my son.  I picked up Superhero Son and Darling Daughter wearing my sweaty running clothes that day.  Imagine!  I was sweaty, gross, stinky, hair a hot mess, and she was asking me for my secret to ‘having my cake and eating it, too!’

I tried to explain as best I could that running is sort of necessary for me to function now.  I fumbled around searching for words.  I know my reply didn’t make any sense.

As I drove home that day, I thought about the Proverbs 31 woman.  I wondered how she managed to do it all.  A clearer response came to me.  So here you go disillusioned parent who thinks my life looks all put together from the outside.

There are many important MUSTS in our family.  All other rules or chores  simply get put off!

1.  Everyone eats healthy food first.  I cook 4-5 nights a week.  If you don’t like what I cook, eat peanut butter and jelly.  No sweets or junk food until dinner is consumed first.  We don’t worry too much about organic in the grocery store because much of our produce come from a garden.

2.  Everyone sleeps enough.  If you are tired and cranky, go to bed!  Both of our kids are good sleepers.  My husband and I function ONLY because we value our sleep.  I go to bed early; he sleeps REALLY late!

3.  Everyone is kind.  If you are mean, BIG punishment comes your way!

4.  Everyone is active.  Superhero Son is trying several sports this year.  Currently he plays t-ball.  Darling Daughter simply crawls around a lot.  (Not much you can do to make her sit still, actually!)  My husband goes to the gym most days.  I run!  I never thought I would be a runner, but I caught the bug.  I try to run at least four days a week.  What I couldn’t fully explain to the questioning mother is that I need to run.  Running clears my head.  It allows me a chance to process my day.  Exercising helps me to keep my body working well enough to manage everything else in my life.

5. Most important: Everyone goes to church, gets involved in church activities, prays often, and lives a Godly life.  Without this rule we would all fall flat on our faces.  Every blessing that mother saw goes back to this rule!  Every blessing in my life is due to the power and glory of God!

Everything else gets pushed to the side.  My laundry sits in baskets; it is washed, dried, and *sometimes* folded, but not put away.  My floors always need to be mopped.  My yard could use a good landscaper/gardener.  My brother feels the need to clean whenever he visits.  I usually have a bookbag of ungraded papers calling to me.  I also have piles of writing work to tackle.

We live a busy life.  We love our busy life.  However, we have suffered our share of hardships.  We simply choose each day to be happy, knowing that more hardships WILL come our way.  We take comfort knowing that God is in charge, not us.

It isn’t about “having it all” or “doing it all.”  Our life is about having priorities.  As long as God  is placed first, everything else will be okay.  I believe the Proverbs 31 woman had peace in her life knowing that God would take care of all the rest so long as she served Him.  She worked hard and followed His plan for her life.  She proved that we don’t have to “do it all” because God can!

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

