Reviews: 24 Math Challenge

Leave a comment

*As a teacher, I love hearing ideas from other teachers.  We teachers do not make enough money to buy expensive programs or products for our kids unless we are sure they are worth the money.  In this spirit, I will review the products used in my county and my classroom for the benefit of others out there looking for ideas.*

One point single-digit card

One point single-digit card

My school system has a county-wide 24 Challenge tournament  for elementary students.  It then hosts a regional tournament.  I have participated in the tournament with students for five years now.  Over the past five years I have learned a thing or two about playing 24 Challenge.

For those of you who don’t know what I am talking about, it is a card game.  Each card has four numbers on it.  The student uses each of the four numbers to create a math sentence that equals 24.  The math sentence can use any of the four basic operations.  For official rules, visit the website http://www.24game.com/.

Pros:  This is a terrific game to teach and practice basic computation skills.  It is really easy to use in the classroom once the students know how to play.  This frees me to work with students who need more attention from me.

The game is leveled.  The level of difficulty can be noted by how many points are available on the card.  You can buy sets of cards that use only addition and subtraction.  Once students are ready, you move them into addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division.  Again, students can move up to double digit numbers on the cards.  Finally, you can purchase cards that use decimals and fractions.  I have not used the decimal or fraction cards in my classroom.

Cons:  The decks of cards are expensive.  I bought four new boxes this year for a little over $100.00.  You certainly can play with only one box, but my kids who play on the school team like to take them home to practice.

Overall, the game is great.  In a world where high-stakes testing has taken over our classrooms, it is nice to have great games to sprinkle into our daily lessons.

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

