Strength and Dignity…Lord, Help Me With This One!

Leave a comment

Strength and dignity are her clothing,
And she smiles at the future. Proverbs 31:25 NASB

Strength has several meanings for me.  First, I obviously admire the physical strength of women who have much more time to workout than I do.  I wish I could hit the gym every single day.  I would love to be able to run and strength train more regularly.  Unfortunately I only get to run 3-4 days a week.

Mental strength, however, is even more difficult.  I believe that God is constantly working on me.  I feel that each trial He presents in my life is an opportunity to shape me into the person He wants me to be.  That doesn’t make life easy!

My mental strength wavered tonight.  As I mentioned yesterday, our house is going on the market. In TWO WEEKS!  I spent all of yesterday evening painting the upstairs bathroom, thanks to a girlfriend who helped paint and watch kids.  After she left, I touched up paint on the kitchen cabinets that I refinished two years ago.  They are a lovely white!  Well… They were!

Whoever thought getting a house ready for market with a nearly one-year old and a preschooler was crazy!  I will blame my husband!  Darling daughter dumped an entire tray of paint on the bathroom floor yesterday.  (Again, thank goodness for my friend who was helping!)  Tonight she cut her finger.   On a bowl. (Not sure how.) And bled. On the …. Yep! White kitchen cabinets!  My strength was TESTED!

In the moment, all I could do was check to see how bad the cut was.  Her finger is so tiny.  It is the first time I have actually seen a person shoot blood from a body part.  (Sorry for the grossness.)

Once she was bandaged, all I could do was sit on the floor beside her and look at the blood.  I prayed to God that He would grant me the strength to keep this house showable once it hits the market.  I prayed that I would not become overly tired and bitter.

My husband’s words filled my head.  On the way home from church Sunday, he told me that his goal for this move was to not get stressed out.  I laughed and told him it was too late.

Sitting on the floor with a crying baby, wiping up little puddles of blood, trying to clean my kitchen cabinets, I thought of my husband’s words.  Instead of stressing about the cut, I picked myself up off the floor, picked Darling Daughter up off the floor, and thanked God that, with strength, we receive dignity.  From strength and dignity comes the ability to smile, even when things go wrong.

The Proverbs 31 woman didn’t have an easy life.  However, she was able to pick herself up after a fall.  She could hold her head high, knowing she was doing her best.  With her strength and dignity, came her smiles.  Undoubtedly her smiles carried over to her husband and children.

We all need God to grant us strength to get through the rough times.  Today, remember to smile when you feel His strength!

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

