Adventures At a Fabric Store

Leave a comment

She makes linen garments and sells them,
And supplies belts to the tradesmen. Proverbs 31:24

Tonight is the performance of the play I direct at school.  My drama club began putting together our rendition of Peter Pan back in October.  Things were smooth until my co-director had her baby five weeks early.  I can’t complain too much because two other teachers stepped up to help.  My amazing teammates always are willing to help me!  However, as we approached performance time, the to-do list seemed to grow and grow.  Finally, last night, I still needed fabric.

Since our mermaids needed fabric to “swim” through, I went to a local fabric shop to buy something that looked “watery.”  The lady was awesome!  She found the blue fabric, measured, cut, ran my credit card, and I was out the door before I even understood what had happened.  I was completely overwhelmed by that store.  It was by the grace of God that she came to my rescue.

That experience got me thinking about the Proverbs 31 woman and her expertise of fabric.  I don’t think we all need to understand fabric to rise to her level.  We are simply called to understand our own trade.  For me, I work hard to stay current on educational practices.  I also work on pushing forward my writing career. (Small as that may be at this time!).

What is your trade?  How are you working to promote your career, your area of expertise?  I think the point here is to take your God-given talent and use it!

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

