Airing Our Dirty Laundry

Leave a comment

Nope!  This isn’t about laundry.  This is about sharing our problems with the world!  

We all have issues.  We all have our vices.  We all handle these problems in different ways.  

She opens her mouth in wisdom,
And the teaching of kindness is on her tongue. Proverbs 31:26 NASB

I bet the Proverbs 31 woman had plenty of secrets.  I bet she had vices that she kept hidden from others. She may have even spanked her kids, eaten fattening foods, argued with her husband, felt overwhelmed, sad, depressed, and angry.  How did she handle it? Probably not in public!

Life at work has been tense lately.  Several co-workers have been REALLY cranky.  Some handle the stress gracefully; some bite your head off when you say, “Good morning!”  

We all have bad days.  How do we handle them?  

I believe the Proverbs 31 woman probably hid much of her emotion from others.  She may have had a couple close girlfriends that she vented to at the well.  However, in public, her words were always wise and kind.

Yesterday was rough for me.  After work I drove to Starbucks for a cheesecake brownie and an iced coffee.  Of course I did this before my children were in the car.  It remained a secret.  I don’t do it often, but I allowed myself a treat yesterday.  By the time I saw my kids, I was cheerful and kind.  We would go broke if I did this often.  I also would need way more time at the gym!  This is not necessarily a healthy way to deal with emotions, but it is better than going OFF on my family.

Many of us deal with bad tempers. We know we have to control them.  I blame my father for my temper.  Unfortunately, I passed it along to Superhero Son, too.  It always gets worse when I feel stressed out.  It is really easy to explode in the presence of others when we let that temper go unchecked.

Life is too short to go through it being grouchy!  Instead of ranting on Facebook, yelling at strangers, or sharing a grouchy demeanor with your family, find a way to deal with those emotions.  Strive for your words to always be wise and kind.

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

