Sunday Mornings When Everyone Cries

4 Comments

As a child, I don’t remember church being an emotional place unless you were there for a wedding or funeral.  In fact I remember thinking it was about the most boring place my parents could make me go.  I distinctly recall wondering why anyone would skip Sunday School and just come for the 11:00am service.

This is not a reflection of my ministers.  I loved a couple my childhood ministers.  My family became great friends with them.  I just don’t ever recall enjoying a sermon or seeing someone showing an emotional reaction to the Holy Spirit.

As an adult, I have seen it on more than a few occasions.  This past Sunday, I had the privilege of witnessing God’s mighty hand moving through my congregation.

My friend, Keith, author of the devotions I am compiling into the book With Unveiled Face, presented the book to the church.  We needed about $1700.00 to proceed with publication.  Our leadership team had agreed to fund the project, but wanted the church to step up and donate if possible.  Keith and a member of the leadership team clearly explained that all money from the book would go directly to our building fund, so we can build our church. (We still meet in a high school.)

The leadership team opened the floor for discussion.  I panicked.  I was afraid someone would want to pull our funding.  I jumped for the microphone, having no idea what I would say.  Actually, I don’t remember what I said!

Another man, an amazing man in our church, asked for the mic.  He was in tears.  He explained that he arrived at church knowing about our project.  He did not feel like he needed to donate money because he thought the book would pay for itself.  Until we spoke!  He then felt like God was calling him out to prove “where your treasure lies, there your heart lies also” (Matthew 6:21).

He said his family would donate $100.00.  Within seconds the church exploded with people on their feet, yelling that they would also be giving.  This man called on 17 families to give.  The leadership team asked for a show of hands of those willing to give.  We stopped counting at 20.  As I looked around, most were in tears.  People around me were in awe of the work of the Holy Spirit and the willingness of our congregation to serve.

Afterwards, I heard stories of families who were down to their last $100 for the month.  They used it to fund this book.  They stepped out in faith.  They were willing to place their treasure in the future of their church.  I was humbled by their generosity and their faith in God and us.

I know God used this book to move in the hearts of His people.  The Holy Spirit washed through my congregation.

What is the Holy Spirit calling you to do today?  Do you need to place your treasure in God?  Do you need to step out in faith?

Blessings!

4 thoughts on “Sunday Mornings When Everyone Cries

  1. Jessica,

    I my heart swells with pride and gratitude that you were a part of my life. You are probably unaware but at a time when I was supposed to be supporting and nurturing for you, that you actually supported and nurtured me more than you will ever know! I would like to send a check for your project. Please let me know where I can send it to.

    Again, love to you and your family!

    Susan Frye

    • It is so good to hear from you! Thank you so much for your lovely words. My church will receive all monetary benefits from my book. All money will go toward building a church for our people. Here is my church’s information.
      ClearView Church
      PO Box 1171
      Fishersville, VA 22939-1171

      Thank you so much! I hope you continue to read my posts!
      Blessings,
      Jessica

  2. I have started a list of people I want to gift the devotional book to — please let me know when you will begin taking book orders. I have heard the author is a terrific Bible teacher.

    • Publication is underway. The manuscript goes out as soon as I can get it finished! Keith is unbelievable! Everything you have heard about his incredible ability to disciple others is true.
      Thanks for the comment and support!
      Jessica

Leave a Reply

