Perspective

Leave a comment

Her children rise up and bless her;
Her husband also, and he praises her, saying:
 “Many daughters have done nobly,
But you excel them all.”
 Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain,
But a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised.
 Give her the product of her hands,
And let her works praise her in the gates. Proverbs 31:28-31

Yesterday I was blessed with perspective.  That’s right!  Perspective!  I was bummed by work, feeling sorry for myself, upset with some things in my life.  Then BAM!  Perspective hit!

I bet the Proverbs 31 woman had perspective.  I bet that is why she managed to carry herself with such dignity.  She knew charm and beauty were not her goals.  She knew her job in life was the praise and honor God.  Everything else took second place.  Her children and husband praised her, not because everything she did was perfect, but because she did everything for God.  Her children and husband praised her because God blessed her first!

School was tough Friday.  I have a student dealing with horrendous issues in her homelife.  I am not even sure what to say to the child when I see her again.  I know I have to be a support to her, but I do not know or understand the life she leads.  I don’t know how to help her.

Some test scores for my students came back.  They were terrible!  These scores were the lowest a group of my students have ever scored.  I felt like I had failed my students.

There were moments Friday when I was ready to throw in the towel.  My husband asked if I wanted to quit teaching to write full time.  I SERIOUSLY considered it! 

At that point I was hit upside the head with perspective!  I read a devotional from my new book.  The devotions are all written by Keith, a phenomenal man in my church.  I am simply turning them into a book.  One of the devotions reminded me that God is in the business of saving.  It is just my job to spread the love of Jesus to others.  I don’t have to save my little girl whose life is in shambles.  God will do that for me.  I just have to love her!

I also talked with a teacher at church who shared the scores of other schools in my county.  My scores may have been terrible by my standards, but the others were even lower.  My hard work this year did not let down my students.  My school earned scores that rivaled and beat other schools.  

By the end of the day, the perspective I received convinced me that I was trying to do my job and God’s too.  That isn’t possible!  I can trust God to take care of the big stuff.  I just have to allow Him to take charge.  

If I want to be like the Proverbs 31 woman, I just have to praise and honor God.  If that remains my goal, the blessings will come!

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

