Wonder: A Book Review

2 Comments
Wonder by R.J. Palacio

Wonder by R.J. Palacio

We all hope that we do something during the school year to positively impact our students for life.  As the end of the year approaches, I want to leave my kids with something to think about over the summer.  I teach fifth graders who will enter middle school in the fall.  I want to create students who are accepting of others, kind, respectful, and not afraid to stand up for their beliefs.  If that is your goal, Wonder is an amazing book to use.

Wonder is about a boy, August, about to enter the fifth grade and public school for the first time.  He was born with substantial deformities, endured 27 surgeries in his first 10 years, and was homeschooled to help fight illnesses.  Now he will deal with the scrutiny and meanness of fifth graders for the first time in his life.

Before beginning the book, I showed a book trailer.  There are several good ones on Youtube.  I showed a great one that I found on www.schooltube.com.  My kids were instantly hooked.

This book is hilarious!  So far my kids have loved the farting nurse and Mr. Tushman with the chubby cheeks!  They also have fallen in love with August and his problems.  Their hearts pour with pain for him as he deals with strange looks, embarrassing questions, and bullying.

This is the kind of book that will leave a mark on kids.  Even though this was written just last year, I predict it will soon become a classic.  As adults, my students will remember the impact this book had on them.

What are you doing to impact kids today?

Blessings!

2 thoughts on “Wonder: A Book Review

Leave a Reply

