Fallen Angel: Victoria’s Secret Angel, Of Course!

2 Comments

While enjoying our mini-vacation at The Homestead Resort, I spent some time catching up on national news.  I found a story on MSNBC about a model who dropped her blossoming career and wrote a book entitled, “I’m No Angel.”

Kylie Bisutti won a modeling competition, walked the runway with Victoria’s Secret, landed a lucrative career modeling lingerie, and then gave it all up.  When asked by the interviewer why she chose to throw away such a successful start to her dream job, she replied that God changed her heart.  She no longer wanted to “sell sex” as a model.  Instead, she wanted to be a role model for young girls who struggle with destructive self-images.  

I haven’t read the book yet, but she said in the interview that one of her reasons for a change in career was to grow closer to being a Proverbs 31 wife.  Naturally, I decided to include her in this blog.  

I am guessing most of us don’t have jobs of which God would not approve.  I always felt like God pushed me toward teaching, rather than trying to lead me away.  I don’t know what it is like to feel as if God was condemning my career.  I imagine she feels relieved to be following a path that is God-lead.  I also imagine she is enjoying great success with her new-found writing career.  Let’s face it, the girl had her book publicized on the Today Show!

What can the rest of us learn from Kylie?  I will not judge the modeling industry or Victoria’s Secret.  In fact, I shop there!  However, I think we can clearly see that when Kylie took a step of faith and quit a money making career, God handed her success in a new way.  

We know that God is not out to destroy our lives.  When we follow His plans for our lives, we will find success.

Jeremiah 29:11-13 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.  You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. (NIV)

Did you read that correctly?  His plans include prosperity, hope, and a future!

Blessings!

2 thoughts on “Fallen Angel: Victoria’s Secret Angel, Of Course!

  1. I love what you said regarding HIS plans! He certainly makes all things beautiful in His time. Love you friend!

    • You are so right. That is hard to remember on a night like tonight. Every teacher cringes at the news from Oklahoma, but we must remember that God is in control, not us. He can make all things beautiful, even tragedy!
      Love you back!

Leave a Reply

