Not Perfect, But With a Purpose

2 Comments

I sat down and reread Proverbs 31.  Since I began writing for this blog about two months ago, I think I have read it at least one hundred times.  I finally realized this time that the Proverbs 31 woman was NOT perfect. Instead, she lived her life with a purpose.  That is a much more attainable goal! I need to stop striving for perfection.

My laundry will NEVER be caught up. There will be dirty dishes in my sink within an hour of starting the dishwasher.  As soon as I mop the floors, someone will spill something.  I live with a grown man and a four year old boy.  The floors around the toilets always need to be cleaned!

My kids are great, but they still fight.  Superhero Son will need me to help him academically for years to come.  Darling Daughter is constantly doing something she shouldn’t do.

My marriage will always need me to put in the hard work it takes to be a good wife.  I will always have a career that demands my attention.  Finally, I will always have God to serve.

I cannot accomplish everything every single day.  It isn’t possible!  I may be created in God’s image, but I do not have God’s power.  I will never be perfect!  There!  I said it!  You should say it, too!   You will feel much better once you realize that there is a better way to live.

From now on I will strive to live my life with a purpose instead of with perfection!

Blessings!

2 thoughts on “Not Perfect, But With a Purpose

  1. Amen! All houses are the same just with different families in them. My laundry will NEVER be done…EVER!!! My dishes always dirty, my house always a mess, but there is so much love bursting from my house through giggles, screams, and sometimes tears that having a perfect house isn’t worth the worry. I also decided that I like sleep much more than a perfectly clean and put together house! 😉 (I thought of you as I got on I64 Wednesday!)

    • Thanks for the comment! I am glad I am not the only one who chooses sleep over cleanliness! And I am glad that you spend more time celebrating your kids than cleaning!
      Jess

Leave a Reply

