Time to Finish This Race!

Leave a comment

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the course, I have kept the faith; 2 Timothy 4:7

A couple of days ago, I wrote that for every woman trying to emulate the Proverbs 31 woman, there is a man striving to be like Paul.  I have been thinking a lot about Paul lately, so maybe we women are also trying to be like Paul!

In chapter 4 of 2 Timothy, Paul is finishing his race.  He knows he worked hard, did his job, and finished well.

I am quickly approaching the end of another school year.  It has been a great year!  My team and I have worked hard, the kids have been amazing, and we have run a good race.  We only have a few days left before we reach our finish line!

I am also running the race of writing the devotional book.  Keith and I are working hard to get the manuscript to the publisher soon.  With Unveiled Face will hit the shelves in the fall, but the actual writing is almost complete.

Paul wrote about a race that he would only run once in his life.  His race would end when his life ended.  My races are not marathons, they are shorter 5Ks.  After a couple months rest, time spent with family, and recovery, I will begin a new race with a new set of kids.  In August, I will approach a new start line.

After the book manuscript gets to the publisher, we will probably take a short break.  Keith and I will probably spend a bit of time away from our computer screens.  Eventually, we will both approach new start lines.  We will begin the next big writing project.  Who knows?  We may work together again on another book!

Paul was trying to finish strong because he wanted to serve God.  Instead of assuming that our lives are one giant race, I prefer to view mine as a series of races.  As one comes to a completion a new one will begin.  Some of the runners racing with me may change, the course may change, my finish time may change depending on the steep hills I encounter along the way.  Regardless, we all have a race to run.

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

