Managing a Household

Leave a comment

She looks well to the ways of her household,
And does not eat the bread of idleness. Proverbs 31:27

I would love to begin this post by saying that I have this one all figured out.  However, I am far from it!  I flip through magazines, surf online, ask friends, and read library books all about how to manage a home without going crazy! I still don’t have a good enough answer.

There are many reasons to love my career as a teacher, but among the top few sits my summers.  I LOVE June and July!  They are amazing months when I can relax and enjoy my family.  Along with it, comes the need to reorganize my schedule.  That is my goal for this week!

Last summer I had a newborn.  I didn’t schedule anything but feedings and naps.  This year has to be different.

First of all, Superhero Son has to step up his preschool work.  Since he is now four, he will have scheduled time to work on preschool skills.  I won’t force this too much, and the activities are all fun.  He already loves his “work,” and he loves reading with me.  I just need to be more intentional with the skills I choose for him to work through each day.  I want this summer and next summer to really prepare him for kindergarten.

Secondly, Darling Daughter is trying to walk.  Very soon, I will have a young toddler and a four year old to entertain!  I need to plan and schedule fun days for us, so I don’t go crazy!

Thirdly, teachers do not EVER truly take the summers off.  I still have a lot of writing projects to work through this summer.  I have several days when I am working with curriculum supervisors for my school system.  I have three days I have to work in my classroom, and I need to rethink my reading and writing class structure to account for the increased difficulty we saw this year with our state tests.

Finally, this house is for sale!  We have to manage all of this AND keep this house “show-ready!”

I am not listing my summer plans here for you to read and think, “This girl has lost it!  She is crazy!  It won’t happen!”

The reality is that it can only happen if I get my life organized!  For those of you who know me well, you know organization is NOT my strong point!  If I sit and listen well enough, I can probably hear you laughing right now!

Here are my thoughts and ideas:

1.  Use Flylady for organization and cleaning.

2.  Use Cozi for scheduling.

3. Use 1+1+1=1  for preschool planning.  Superhero Son will work his way through the Raising Rock Stars preschool program.

As we move through summer, I will try not to bore you with all of the details.  However, I will use the Housekeeping category to post updates.

Wish me luck!

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

