The Gift of Grace: Easily Received, Not Easily Given

2 Comments

ballerina

When I was a kid, I thought grace applied to ballerinas only.  When I heard about God’s grace, I thought it meant His beauty.  I didn’t understand that grace is a gift He gives to us. I don’t remember the moment when I understood that grace had more to do with attitude than beauty, but I know that this is an area in which God is still working in my life.

I tend to be a believer in “you reap what you sow.”  I want those who work the hardest to gain the most.  I want those who follow the rules to come out ahead.  However, I am starting to understand God’s grace.

My pastor has said that the difference in mercy and grace is simple.  Mercy is not getting the punishment we do deserve; grace is getting the good things we don’t deserve.

I am aware of the many blessings I have because of God’s grace.  I wasn’t the perfect child, but I was given awesome parents and a great brother.  I am not the perfect wife, but I was given an amazing husband.  I am not the perfect mother, but my children are among the greatest blessings I could ever imagine.  I didn’t work hard or follow the rules to gain these people in my life. Their presence can only be explained by God’s grace.

Having accepted the fact that God has shown unrelentless grace in my life, I have to give grace to others.  Here is where God is working on me!  I am quick to yell at my kids, quick to fuss at my husband, and way too quick to judge others.  I pray that God helps me daily to remember to offer grace to others.

How has God shown his amazing grace in your life?

Blessings!

2 thoughts on “The Gift of Grace: Easily Received, Not Easily Given

  1. Thanks for your honesty. I am a person who doesn’t have much right now, at least of the material things that I want. Life happens but we roll with the punches and trust that God is in our situations working things out. Still, I’ve experienced incredible grace during this time. If it were money, I’d be a wealthy somebody! I sometimes cannot believe the incredibly real lessons God is proving in my life. Like Paul, I am learning contentment when things are abundant and when they are meager; either way his grace leads the way.

Leave a Reply

