Blessed Are the Meek

Leave a comment

 Blessed are the meek,
    for they will inherit the earth. Matthew 5:5

In the past ten years I have had the privilege of working with two amazing women who, I believe, fit the Godly definition of meek.  They are kind, focus on the good of the kids rather than their pride, are willing to accept criticism as a means of growth, work hard to get everything accomplished well, refuse credit for their good deeds, and secretly go above and beyond to care for their co-workers and students.  Sound familiar?  Yeah, I bet you work with a couple of people like this, too.  

A few weeks ago I posted about pride. (Read more here.)  I mentioned that I struggle with my need to be recognized for my effort.  Since then, I feel like these two women have been on my mind all the time.  They have captured my attention as role models for me as I try to put aside my pride.

Now, for all of you skeptics who do not think meekness is an admirable quality,  let’s work on the definition a bit.  Biblical meekness does not mean allowing others to walk all over you in sin.  It means showing kindness and mercy.  It does not mean “spirit-less” as dictionary.com defined it.  Rather, it means full of the Holy Spirit.  These two women do not walk with their heads held down in defeat or fear.  They walk with their heads held high, assured that their steps follow the path laid before them by God.

That, my friends, is the definition of a woman I want to emulate!

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

