Above All Else, Fear the Lord

1 Comment

Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
    but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. (Proverbs 31:30, NIV)

As a mom and as a teacher, I know that little eyes are always watching me.  One of the first things my professors taught during education classes is that we are to lead by example.  Our students and our children will learn how to act by watching our actions, how to speak by listening to what we say, and how to live by watching our lives.

One of the ways I teach my kids and the kids I work with at church is by helping them interpret scripture.  I fully understand that I do not know enough about biblical translations to adequately interpret scripture for them.  I pray that God will help me and hope that my interpretations are not too far off the mark.  In fact, this week we read the same verses from a couple different translations to help me with this.

One of the biblical ideas I struggle with the most is fear in the Lord.  The verse above tells us that fearing the Lord is an admirable quality in women.  Throughout the Old Testament we read that God shows His wrath, anger, jealousy, and might in some very scary ways.  I am a firm believer that the God of today is the same as the God of the Old Testament, and He will remain the same forevermore.  However, I don’t feel the need to be afraid of Him.

The Proverbs 31 woman lacked one HUGE element in her life that I have in mine, Jesus.  She had to live her life without a relationship with Jesus.  I don’t think the first coming of Christ changed God, but I do think it changed our relationship with God.

I do not attend church because I fear God.  I attend church because I feel Him drawing me to my church.   I feel the Holy Spirit moving in the lives of my church’s members.

I do not read my Bible, write this blog, teach Biblical lessons to my kids, or teach Sunday School because I am afraid of what God will do to me if I choose to not obey Him.  I do it out of respect, praise, and honor.  I may even fear punishment, but not God.

I am not as educated as I should be on this topic.  I welcome your comments.

What does it mean to you to “fear the Lord?”

Blessings!

One thought on “Above All Else, Fear the Lord

  1. According to Andy Stanley in his book, The Best Question Ever, in Proverbs 9:10, Fear means recognition and reverence that leads to submission.

Leave a Reply

