The Gift of Family

Leave a comment

I am a firm believer that it takes a village to raise kids. I have great parents, but they were not the only influencial family members in my childhood.

Last night, after the hot dogs and burgers were packed away, the fireworks sizzled down to nothing but a smoke-filled valley, and my kids were both sound asleep, I took a moment to look around me. My kids were surrounded by people who dearly love them. They slept to the sounds of cousins playing instruments and their grandmother joining in to sing. Superhero Son may tell you his favorite part was the lemon meringue pie, but more important is the lady who made the pie. She is my grandmother’s sister and one of those unbelievably strong southern women.

These cousins, aunts, and grandparents are the help I need to raise my kids. We don’t see them very often, but that doesn’t matter. They influenced who I am and the parent I have become.  These are the people who will celebrate the successes of my children and walk with them when life gets tough.

Many nights over the past five years since we learned we would have our first child, I have prayed for God to make me to be the mom my kids need for me to be. I am slowly understanding that He doesn’t expect me to be perfect. He will send help through the gift of the amazing family these kids have.

If the Proverbs 31 woman were asked if she had help raising her kids, she would probably answer that her family worked together to raise their children. Families are another amazing design of Gods. I pray I will never forget to treasure my family.

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

