Prayers and Nightmares

Leave a comment

Matthew 21:22 And whatever you ask in prayer, you will receive, if you have faith.”

Read more: http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/10-awesome-bible-verses-about-the-power-of-prayer/#ixzz2YSbciVHf

I love when God teaches my son lessons about the power of prayer.  I learned long ago that I cannot parent without the grace and help of my Heavenly Father.   This week He pulled through for me again!

Superhero Son is struggling with nightmares about fire.  This stems from a few recent incidents.

We had a conversation not too long ago about why we can’t play in the yard when it is thundering.  I had to explain that when we hear thunder, it could mean lightning will begin soon.  He didn’t understand electricity very much, but he understood me when I said that lightning can cause fires.

A few days later he saw a forest fire on the news.  You could see homes going up in flames in the video footage.

This combination absolutely terrified Superhero Son so much that he began to have nightmares about trees falling and catching his house on fire.  He even had one nightmare at his sitter’s house during naptime.  The nightmares became so frequent that he was getting out of his bed and coming into my room every night. Finally, he decided he didn’t want to go to sleep in his bed.

What is a momma to do? My four year old was refusing to go to sleep in his own room, a room where he has slept since he was a couple of weeks old.

I got on his bed and told him to pray to God about his bad dreams.  I helped him pray that God would protect our house and send him sweet dreams.  He asked to dream of swimming pools, candy, and cupcakes.  The result?  He slept through the night for the first time in days.  He hasn’t had a nightmare since.

I am so grateful that God helps me parent my kids.  I cannot teach the lessons he needs.  I need help.  I know I could not do this alone!

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

