A Woman of Strength

Leave a comment

17 She sets about her work vigorously;
    her arms are strong for her tasks. (Proverbs 17:31)

Last night I couldn’t open a jar of jelly.  I was trying to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for my son, but the jar lid wouldn’t budge.  I had a few options, but the easiest was the hand the jar to my husband.  He laughed.  He loves knowing that he is stronger than I am.  It gives him this boost of feeling needed.

I manage our family without my husband about 90% of the time.  We only see him after church on most Sundays.  He works the last Sunday of each month.  And we see him on Tuesdays, his day off.  Usually he works until 8pm and arrives home around 9pm.  By 9pm, the kids are in bed, and I am not far from it.  (I get up at 5am when I am working. I go to bed early!)

Most of the time I cannot rely upon his strength to help our family with our daily issues.  I learned long ago that I had to be strong enough to guide our family when he isn’t around.  I can’t!  I am not equipped with strength enough to run our family, work full time, raise our kids, cook, clean, shop, plan meals, prepare our kids for school, and keep up with bills.  There aren’t enough hours in the day or enough energy in my body.

The Proverbs 31 woman had a secret.  She had help from God.  That is the only way any woman can have enough strength to complete her tasks!  And we all know how many tasks are required of us each day! We need God to help us!

I pray daily that I will have all the resources, including strength, I need to complete my tasks for the day. Lucky for us, God wants to see us succeed in raising our families and guiding our homes.  He will pull through for us if we trust Him.

This morning, at 5am, I set about my work vigorously.  Today is the first day back to work for me after the summer off.  I will sit in meetings most of the day, but I will be back to work nonetheless.  The maddening dinner rush awaits me when I pick up the kids and return home this evening.  Will I have the strength needed? NOPE!  But I can count on God to pull me through!

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

