Easily Distracted!

Leave a comment

Turn my heart toward your statutes
    and not toward selfish gain.
Turn my eyes away from worthless things;
    preserve my life according to your word. Psalms 119:36-37 (NIV)

I have this kid who is so easily distracted.  When she struggles with a math concept or can’t decode a word, I don’t know if she truly can’t do it or if she just can’t concentrate.  I have seen few kids who have this much trouble focusing!

I wonder if God says that about any of us! I wonder if He is asking how many of us would not struggle nearly as much in our lives if we would just focus on Him.  Last night I found myself complaining to my mom and husband about work related issues.  After whining for a long time, wasting time on Facebook, and then whining some more, it occurred to me that I really hadn’t prayed about any of it.

Boy, did I feel dumb!  My focus was in the wrong place.  I was too easily distracted by the world around me.  What did I do? I humbly prayed. A LOT!

I didn’t wake up this morning with all the answers at my fingertips, but I do have more focus.  I have confidence that I can at least move in the right direction.

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

