The Importance of a Name

Leave a comment

Two of the toughest decisions we’ve had as parents were choosing the names of our kids.  It was a painstaking process in which we vetoed decisions from the other,  argued, compromised, and argued some more.  We probably sounded a bit like our Congress during this government shutdown!

A good name is more desirable than great riches;     to be esteemed is better than silver or gold. Proverbs 22:1

Names are important.  A name says a lot about a person.  Throughout the Bible, God and Jesus have many names.  In fact, songs have been written just about their names.

With just a name, I can send my four-year old into a tizzy.  Mention Santa in this house, and you will get a reaction.  My one-year old has the same reaction when you say, “Daddy.”

Some shudder in fear when they hear a certain name.  They cower as if the name itself is a threat.

Yesterday, during my middle school lesson at church, we read through the Ten Commandments.  The kids were discussing what each one meant when they started talking about taking the Lord’s name in vain.  I heard a kid ask why that was as bad as the others.  My first instinct was a quick prayer asking for help with this one.  I replied that God has power in His name.  The name of God, alone, is a powerful word.  I tried to explain that Jesus tells us to pray in His name.  I don’t know how thoroughly I explained it, but hopefully the idea will stick with the kids.  I clearly have a Bible verse for next week’s lesson!

And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it. John 14:13-14

What power does the name of God hold in your life?

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

