It’s Picture Day

Leave a comment

Ah picture day!  We all remember picture day at school, don’t we?  I was the tallest in my class, so I remember always being told to stand in the back of the line.  I bet I am not the only one who remembers the little black combs.  If you were like me, you also had a mom who made you wear one of your best shirts, had your hair cut a few days before, and you couldn’t leave the house in the morning until you promised to stay clean and neat until after pictures.

Well, today is picture day at my school, and not much has changed.  My kids will come in all dressed up, hair slicked down, rocking their nicest clothes, and walking around very carefully so they don’t get dirty.

We go great lengths to make sure we look our best when we know pictures will be taken.  However, do we ever consider trying to look our best for God?  I don’t mean wearing our nicest clothes for church.  I am talking about making sure our HEART is clean, neat, and not getting dirty.

I believe that God looks down and watches us, but I don’t think he considers our outward appearance as much as our inward thoughts.  Do we ensure that we are keeping our heart clean?  Are we filling our minds with music that glorifies God or muddies our soul?  Are the books we read promoting Godly ways or filling us with rubbish?

What if we thought of today as a picture day for our hearts and minds?  Would we need to spiff them up a bit first?

“Create in me a pure heart, O God,
    and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” Psalm 51:10 NIV

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

