No Apologies When God Makes Others Uncomfortable

Leave a comment

John 14:13-14

“And whatever you ask in My name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. “If you ask Me anything in My name, I will do it.

Recently, I have witnessed several deal with the amazing healing power of God.  A young man in my Sunday School class is battling complication from a brain surgery when he was four and a new tumor found in his leg. A local thirteen year old tried to take his own life, survived, and is recovering in pediatric intensive care.   Finally, my father had a minor procedure on his heart yesterday to explore causes of some pain he has been experiencing.  This isn’t new for him.  He has had multiple heart surgeries in the past 16 years.

Now, I run with fairly tight circle of Christian believers.  These friends build me up, help me along my way, and are daily reminders of God’s love.  However, not everyone in my life has the beliefs I do.  This week, on several occasions, I have mentioned the need for prayer, God’s power to heal and work through doctors, and openly expressed faith in God.  Most people in my life are used to this.  Those few who do not share my beliefs seemed a bit uncomfortable.  

At first, I was sorry I said anything.  I felt bad for making them uncomfortable.  I didn’t mean to turn any of these situations back on me or on the person who was now squirming on the other end of the conversation. Then, after a bit of reflection, I took back my regret.  I am NOT sorry I brought it up.  I am not sorry I openly asked all I encountered for their prayers.  I am not sorry that I brought God into the situation.  After all, He was already in the midst of the whole thing!

I realized that I was not the one who made these people uncomfortable.  God did!  If God is at the center of my life, He will come up in daily conversation.  Some will be uncomfortable with that, but they will have to deal with God in their own way.  When tragedy strikes, or illness creeps up on us, we pray!  And we ask others to pray!  We turn to God.  

I realize I am preaching to the choir today.  Those who didn’t like my mention of God won’t read my blog!  However, I have a new prayer for them.  I pray that they can see that the 13 year old is healing.  My student from church is doing awesome and is in great spirits for his upcoming appointments.  Finally, my father is home from the hospital with the best outcome his heart could manage.  

My advice:  Pray!  Pray openly!  Let others see your faith. Even when your beliefs make them uncomfortable.  And don’t apologize for it!

Leave a Reply

