Right Where I Need to Be

Leave a comment

John 16:33
“These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you have tribulation, but take courage. I have overcome the world.”

We spend so much of our lives trying to change our circumstances.  Many of us will spend the majority of our careers trying to earn a promotion. We are constantly trying to buy the newest and best technology. We work hard to get the next college degree.

For me, I am always searching for something better than what I have. I want the next, great family recipe. I want the new cleaning product that is all natural and holds promises of a cleaner home. I want cute new clothes for the whole family.

We spend an incredible amount of time looking forward to promises, hopes, and dreams. None of these are bad, but are wasting our lives? Are we forgetting how to live peacefully in the moment?

My husband doesn’t ever plan. He balances me well. He has taught me over the years to just sit back and enjoy the life we have.

I think God appreciates this perspective. Even during the hard times, we can find peace in our lives. Our peace here on earth can’t come from perfect circumstances. It comes from God.

Colossians 3:15
“And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts…”

Last night, when I climbed into bed, I felt peace. I had a load of laundry still to put away. I didn’t finish my school work. I also needed to mop the kitchen floor. However,  I was able to rest easy knowing God controls this crazy life instead of me.

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

