Staying the Course and Keeping Our Faith

Leave a comment

“Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.” Proverbs 30:31

I like to compare running to my life as a Christian. Paul’s comparison in 2 Timothy is probably one of my favorite analogies in the Bible. We learn from Paul that trying to follow a path approved by God and trail blazed by Christ is hard. He doesn’t sugar coat the narrow road. He tells you up front that Christian Living doesn’t mean easy living.

I have running goals. One is to increase my speed to finish a 5K in under 30 minutes. Another is to train for and run a 10K in the spring. I also want to run more on the hills during a race, instead of giving in to my burning legs and walking.

My goals are modest compared to other runners, but not easy. To achieve these goals I will need hard training, focus on the goals, stamina, and faith that I can do it.

God has goals for each of us. Like running, our goals require discipline, training, focus, and faith. Our goals are not all the same. They will be difficult. Sometimes we will feel like God is making us run uphill. We will meet adversity. Others will criticize our actions and us personally.

The hard work will pay off. We can run our race successfully when we, like our woman in Proverbs 31, fear God above all else in our lives. When we keep our focus on Him, He leads us through the course. Don’t be discouraged by others who stand like obstacles on your route. Keep running.

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

