When Good Intentions Fall Short

Leave a comment

“We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed;”
2 Corinthians 4:8-9

I was taking out the trash yesterday. My husband was at work. (I hate when he works on Sundays!) I wasn’t feeling well. I wanted to put up Christmas decorations, but needed to do too much cleaning first.

I made it up the hill to our trash cans for collection with both full bags. Opened a can, heaved the first bag in, and as I lifted the second, it ripped! Yep! It ripped! Trash flew everywhere.

It was a moment when I stood hoping nobody was watching me. I wanted to run back to the house to get gloves,  but the dog had a different idea. She thought we were playing an awesome game of “spread the trash before it can be cleaned up!”

I quickly grabbed each piece of nastiness, tossed it back into the can, and ran for a sink of hot, soapy water.

What should have taken 3 minutes took four times longer. I was mad. I had better things to do than clean up trash. I spent the next few minutes fuming. I whined and complained. I looked at the other chores on my to – do list. I got even madder. I spent a few minutes in “why me?” land. You know that place your mind goes for a pity party? I went there for a while.

I may have spent the rest of the day there if Superhero Son had not stepped in. He asked if it was time to make cookies.

I didn’t decorate my house. I didn’t finish the laundry. My floors still need to be mopped. However, my anger and bad mood were set aside as we made our first batch of Christmas cookies.

God knows we will struggle.  He knows our good intentions will fall flat. He loves us, gives us grace, and reminds us that struggles won’t last.

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

