Time Wasters! Caught and Convicted!

2 Comments

“For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are – yet did not sin.” (Hebrews 4:15)

What temptations drive you crazy? Do you struggle with alcohol, drugs, gambling, anything illegal?

Perhaps you fall into a different category. My temptations are perfectly legal. We would even say harmless, but that would actually be a lie.

I am tempted by food, but able to control it with my addiction to running.

The real problem in my life is time wasters! Candy Crush Saga, Pinterest,  Facebook, television, googling topics of interest!  All a waste of my time, yet I strive to justify every minute that passes.

I know! Many of you are either laughing or arguing that Jesus’ temptation would have been greater if he had carried a smart phone in that desert with him for 40 days.

What tempted Jesus? Satan! What is the root of my temptation? Still Satan. Even if my phone is his method!

I bet there were moments when Jesus wished he could just sit back and fish with Peter. Instead, he did his Father’s work diligently. 

I bring this up because I wasted an incredible amount of time today. This snow day for my school turned into a wasted day of very little productivity. Now I have twice as much on the list for tomorrow. 

Feeling convicted yet? Trust me! I am!

Blessings!

2 thoughts on “Time Wasters! Caught and Convicted!

  1. Oh, I can so relate to this! I think it’s something we all struggle with. When I smoked, it was easy to feel convicted about all of the time that was wasted on my addiction. But now, it is just as you said: facebook, games, surfing the net, etc. Seemingly harmless things that creep in and steal our precious moments away. Great reminder–convicting indeed!

  2. I’m always catching myself wasting time.
    And yes, I’m convicted.
    The hard part is making a change!
    Thanks for the neat post!

Leave a Reply

